Select Page

You are not the body!

by | Jun 9, 2020 | Brahman, Consciousness, Energy, Form, Prakriti, Purusha, Vedic


Are Purusha and Brahman the same? Since both are energy, does it mean they are the same?


Brahman is that supreme energy out of which everything is born. It is also called the supreme consciousness. This everything that was born of Brahman is matter [Prakriti] and the energy running that matter, we can call it spirit/energy [Purusha].

Purusha is a reflection of the same Brahman. Purusha is an individualized consciousness. Brahman is the supreme consciousness. Just like a drop of water is not very different from the Ocean, the Purusha is not very different from the Brahman.

Now in this puzzle of Prakriti and Purusha, you need to discover who are you? What are you? Where are you?

Think about it! How can you be that piece of Prakriti that you call body? This piece of Prakriti cannot run by itself. The Purusha is the energy that runs this piece of Prakriti called body. This means the eyes on the body don’t see, it is the Purusha that sees. The ears on the body don’t hear, it is the Purusha that enables hearing. Then how can you be the body? You hear, you see, etc. How can you be the body? You can observe this body in all its activities and experience a distance from this body too, if you are aware enough. How can you be the body?

You are the Purusha that is running this piece of Prakriti called body. You [the Purusha] are not different from the Brahman, just like the diffused light in my room at daytime is not different from the bright sunlight outside on the street. The only difference is that the light in my room is diffused. Just like that the Purusha is only a diffused form of Brahman. Purusha is individualized consciousness and Brahman is the Supreme consciousness, got it?

Have questions? Reach out to Ekta by clicking on the “Ask a Question” button on the left sidebar. For attending Ekta’s online knowledge sessions, click the “Gnyana Sangha” button on the left sidebar.


  1. SK

    Very nice and clear explanation! I also got this same doubt after reading Bhagavad Gita Ch. 15-shlokas 16-18. There prakriti and Purusha are called kshara and akshara respectively. Brahman is called Paramatma and Purushottama. I was confused about their relationship. But now I understand clearly after reading your post. Thank you so much!


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading